Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood

8 reasons to read Oryx and Crake before you die:

1. You won’t have to read The Hunger Games, which is a trivial copy-spin-off, surely.

2. You find out kangaroos don’t fart.

3. You have your faith restored in the idea that a story set in the past and present at the same time can work and isn’t just a gimmick to stop you realising that the story line isn’t adequate.

4. When you do die, which will be soon – read the book – you won’t spend your last minutes asking ‘what the fuck’s happening?’

5. I understand that the reason grown adults want to read books for kids these days is that they want to read undemanding books without being judged for it: apparently you can get away with reading stuff like HG and HP without being judged. I find that hilarious, but even if it is true, why on earth wouldn’t you read this book: it is totally zip through, easy, unchallenging. But nonetheless, is well written and leaves a stamp on you. You will remember it as you die.

6. Fabulous main character, even though he’s a spineless unable-to-think-for-himself fuckwit. Emphasis on fuck there.

7. Atwood creates a world which is but a few breaths away and is a relentlessly logical picture of what it will be like, just before we die.

8. If you are like me, it will make you try another Atwood: I gave up on her after a few chapters of my first one, the Russian Doll one. Maybe I was just unlucky in my first pick.

Popular bestseller.
Fabulously written.
Great story.
Great technique.
Message.
Read it.

5 thoughts on “Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood

  1. I did like Oryx and Crake better than the Hunger Games, but I enjoyed them both…and I don’t mind if anyone “judges” me for it. I don’t get that part of the review, are you just trying to say “It’s more compelling than young adult fiction”? Or is it more like, you’re scared that if more grown adults read young adult works that you won’t have anyone to talk about “adult literature” with?

    • I don’t think I mean more than I say there: it’s an easy read and it is odd, if that’s the reason why adults are reading books for teenagers, that they require simplicity, that this book is relatively obscure, given the fame of Hunger Games. Not only is it odd, but it’s a pity.

  2. i loved Oryx and Crake! Margaret Atwood is brilliant IMO, and among my favorite books of all time are a few of hers (Cats Eyes, Surfacing, Oryx and Crake) — did not care for The Handmaid’s Tale though.

    • The Handmaid’s Tale put me off her for a long time and then I unfortunately picked up Russian Doll next which I didn’t care for and put aside not far into it. But I have a few others on the shelves here I will get to sooner or later!

Leave a Reply

