The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout

I’m conflicted as to how to evaluate this.

As a light page turner, easy to read in a hotel room whilst feeling slightly seedy, it does its job. I started it yesterday, finished it today

but….

I suspect it was supposed to be more than this. The author is a Pulitzer prize-winner and not for the first time I wonder how they are picked. Then I remember. Anybody can be considered for a Pulitzer prize. You pay a fee and your book is read.

I note that in 2012, no prize was awarded, and I’m slightly surprised that this author could be a winner, which doesn’t seem to me to set the bar terribly high, and yet they couldn’t muster up one book that could match it that year.

Not only that, I have a bit of an idea I’ve just read a book written For Women.

I’m not sure how to evaluate my critical opinion ‘not good enough’ with the evidence in hand which is that it was a complete page-turner for me.

And its ending is corny. Is that okay? I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout

  1. I liked it. Thought it did some interesting things. Especially liked the line about men in their fifties having it especially tough. And how.

Leave a Reply

