My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

Almost three years ago I wrote on GR about this book:

Whilst I attempt to get my own thoughts in order, for those curious about this book, I strongly recommend reading both Nandakishore’s review and Whitaker’s here.

The fact that the reviews are so very different in content, attitude, the lot surely has something to do with the book.

More later.

But I simply couldn’t think of anything good to say. I’ve discovered, however, that I have company, I’m not the only person in the world who has an aversion for this book. Discovering that has given me the strength to move on without feeling like it must be my fault or that I should be feeling guilty. As much as I loved Museum of Innocence, I dislike this.

There, I’ve said it. And do go to the reviews referenced above to read erudite discussions of this book.

3 thoughts on “My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

  1. I will read those reviews later. I liked this book, but I also thought it could have been better, something kept it from being a favorite, and it’s just a good book to me. Actually, it’s kind of fun to read reviews, specially from those who didn’t like it. 🙂

    • I should have mentioned in my comments that I really don’t like historical novels or fantasy and this is sort of a combination of both, so it wasn’t likely to be appealing to me.

Leave a comment